Furnishing our flat

 

Have I told you yet that we have moved in to our new flat? Well, here it is! The whole flat hunting issue can be a nightmare and I have heard some real horror stories. I would strongly recommend to anyone coming to Dubai with their visa still in progress to find a hotel/Airbnb option for a month or so to give you the time to find somewhere. In addition, you will need your visa to set up DEWA (water/electricity) and Internet etc. 

J suggested I made a note of the cost of furniture so here’s what we spent so far…..although I’d be interested to hear if we spent too much/too little!! 

From the last tenant we bought the following for 6000aed: Sofa, sideboard, oven, washing machine, fridge-freezer, mirror, mattress, shoe cupboard, towels and bedding, lamps, kitchen accessories, ironing board and clothes horse, extra home accessories eg mop, kettle, bins

Extra purchases: TV 600aed, coffee table and rug 100aed, plants 200aed

DUBIZZLE is a website that you will become VERY familiar with as a UAE resident, especially the wheeler-dealers as a bargain can be had! I’m sure we’ll add to our little collection of possessions but so far I have found this just enough to make the place feel homely. If you’re feeling homesick, don’t underestimate the power of a plant! I don’t know what it is about flowers but I instantly feel happier when I have some in my home! 

2 thoughts on “Furnishing our flat

Leave a comment